"Moreover, you scorned our people, and compared the Albanese to sheep, and according to your custom think of us with insults. Nor have you shown yourself to have any knowledge of my race. Our elders were Epirotes, where this Pirro came from, whose force could scarcely support the Romans. This Pirro, who Taranto and many other places of Italy held back with armies. I do not have to speak for the Epiroti. They are very much stronger men than your Tarantini, a species of wet men who are born only to fish. If you want to say that Albania is part of Macedonia I would concede that a lot more of our ancestors were nobles who went as far as India under Alexander the Great and defeated all those peoples with incredible difficulty. From those men come these who you called sheep. But the nature of things is not changed. Why do your men run away in the faces of sheep?"
Letter from Skanderbeg to the Prince of Taranto ▬ Skanderbeg, October 31 1460

Albania’s Ismail Kadare Wins Spanish Literature Prize

Here you can talk about all types of literature and fine art.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sun Member
Sun Member
Posts: 1515
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 2:44 pm
Gender: Female
Location: USA

Albania’s Ismail Kadare Wins Spanish Literature Prize


Post by Arta » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:19 am


OVIEDO, Spain – Albania’s Ismail Kadare, considered one of the greatest European writers and intellectuals of the 20th century, has been named the recipient of the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters on Wednesday for the “beauty and profound commitment of his literary works.”

Kadare beat out fellow finalists Holland’s Cees Noteboom, Italy’s Antonio Tabucchi, Britain’s Ian McEwan, Czech Milan Kundera.

“Using everyday language which is nonetheless full of lyricism, Ismail Kadare narrates the tragedy of his land, an incessant battleground,” the jury said in its statement.

It added that Kadare gives life in his books “to old myths through new words” and “expresses all the grief and dramatic load of conscience.”

A total of 31 candidates from 25 countries were in the running for this year’s Letters prize, including Uruguay’s Eduardo Galeano Japan’s Haruki Murakami, Canada’s Alice Munro, Mexico’s Elena Poniatowska and Hungary’s Agota Kristof.

Canadian writer Margaret Atwood won the 2008 prize.

Past winners of the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters include Juan Rulfo, Mario Vargas Llosa, Camilo Jose Cela, Claudio Rodriguez, Carlos Fuentes, Francisco Umbral, Gunter Grass, Augusto Monterroso, Doris Lessing, Arthur Miller, Susan Sontag, Claudio Magris, Paul Auster and Amos Oz, who won the 2007 prize.

Since 1981, the Prince of Asturias Foundation, headed by Spain’s Crown Prince Felipe, has conferred awards for outstanding achievement in the areas of science, technology, culture, humanitarian endeavor, social activism and statecraft.

The prizes are accompanied by a cash award of 50,000 euros (about $70,000) and a statuette designed by Spanish artist Joan Miro.

The Asturias awards are regarded as the Nobels of the Spanish-speaking world.

The prizes will be handed out in October by Crown Prince Felipe during a ceremony at the northern city of Oviedo’s Campoamor Theater.

In recent weeks, the 2009 Arts prize was conferred on English architect Norman Foster; the International Cooperation prize on the World Health Organization; and the Social Sciences prize on English broadcaster and naturalist David Attenborough.

The prize for Communication and Humanities was awarded to the Autonomous National University of Mexico and the Technical and Scientific Research prize was bestowed on Martin Cooper and Raymond Samuel Tomlinson, regarded as inventors of the cellular phone and e-mail, respectively. EFE
"I never gave anybody hell! I just told the truth and they thought it was hell."~Harry S. Truman

Post Reply

Return to “Literature/Fine Art”